Boards and Ukes at Eastside Projects

May 30, 2017 § Leave a comment


Boards and Ukes at Post-Paradise

January 11, 2017 § Leave a comment


Inlets Ensemble performs number 4 from Boards and Ukes

October 12, 2016 § Leave a comment

Inlets Ensemble performs number 4 from Boards and Ukes

Another New Release on Navona Records!

October 7, 2016 § Leave a comment


New Release on Navona Records

September 30, 2015 § Leave a comment

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 12.47.17 PMScreen Shot 2015-09-30 at 12.46.27 PM

Between Logic and Rhetoric Ferdinando DeSena
Jorge Gomez Abrante, guitar; Elizabeth Galvan, marimba with cymbals

The distinction between logical and rhetorical arguments is clear. While logic is rooted in rigorous reasoning, rhetoric is the art of persuasive presentation and need not be logical in the true sense. Prime examples of such rhetoric are commercial advertising and political debate. However, this piece has nothing to do with this distinction. It was initiated during a conversation in 2009, with performers at the National Composer’s Seminar, Maynooth Ireland. That discussion took place on the National University campus while standing between the “Logic” and “Rhetoric” buildings. It seemed too good a title to let get away. This piece was premiered in 2010 at the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh Scotland.

 Onyx is available on

Harmonicum Accordion Performances at Miami Light Project!

May 12, 2015 § Leave a comment


Harmonicum Accordion is a dysfunctional family portrait. The evolution of the piece and its’ erratic characters delves into the twisted psychology and interactions of the performers as seen through character tableaus projected into the dreamy atmosphere of a fairy-tale. The project is directed and choreographed by Lazaro Godoy and performed by Sangode Lowe, Mélanie Martel, Carlota Pradera, and Lazaro Godoy. Music composed by Jorge Gomez Abrante and Robert Blatt.

Performance of -(e)F -version b- for cello and electronics at Firehouse Space in Brooklyn, NY!

May 5, 2015 § Leave a comment


New works for cello and technologies
Jason Calloway, cello and Juraj Kojs, electronics paired in 2014 to build a program of works that engage music and technologies in game-inspired multimedia interactions. Tonight will feature Kevin Davis, cello.

In the past 50 years, gaming has become a multicultural phenomenon transforming the ways we play, work, and explore.  We learn, exercise, and entertain (exertain) ourselves and others via games.  The analog and digital platforms with their tools and controllers have been continuously expanded to facilitate access to novel stimulations and content.  New rules, challenges, and awards have tantalized growing generations of players, engaging them in competitive interactions.  Whether in the physical world or digital domain, gamers develop skills and strategies to master a labyrinth of difficulty and communication levels.  Completing the puzzle, addictions, violence, and escapist desires for a better existence have shadowed the gaming rapture.  The arts in their multitude of expressions have been at the axis of game design and practice.

Through the call for works, eight composers were selected and commissioned to compose pieces for cello and analog or digital technologies. The works offer a commentary on our game-involved culture, addressing its playfulness, drama, competitive nature and drive for success. The program includes works by Paul Turowski Adrian Democ, Ethan Greene, Lanier Sammons, Chuck Mason, Paul Turowski, Jorge Gomez and Patrick O’Malley. Jason Calloway and Juraj Kojs premiered the project on Sept 6, 2014 in Miami, FL.